Om’s Impact At Business 2.0 Still Being Felt After His Exit

I Want Media interviewed Business 2.0 editor Josh Quittner in connection with the M-Squared conference in San Francisco. I’ve asked all of my journalists to create a blog. It’s an experiment in response to a lot of thinking I’ve been doing about Om Malik and the great success we had with him while he was […]

Caught In The PR Crossfire

There’s a bloatospheric storm brewing over Wal-Mart’s “fake” blog, Wal-Marting Across America. John at Biz Hack calls it a “flog,” otherwise known as a stealth PR blog. Bottom line, it lacks transparency—the very thing Wal-Mart’s PR agency likes to trumpet. And it’s not just Edelman on the line, here. Editor & Publisher reports on the […]

The Last Retainer

Pat D’Amico, business development partner at Psynchronous Communications and former SVP/Group Director at Arnold Worldwide, calls his own fiction “a bitterly funny account of the rat-eat-rat world of advertising” in our comments. So let’s look at the man’s prose, offered semi-anonymously on a Blogspot site: Tracy DelAngelis was in the late stages of making a […]

Dialogue Marketing Trumps Monologue Marketing Everytime

Friend of AdPulp (FOP), Tom Asacker wrote something I like a lot. Don’t look for breakthrough insights in outdated processes like “inventory control” and “advertising.” Instead, study those businesses that actually broke with conventional wisdom and discovered new ways to get closer and closer to the customer. And for the record, I am not saying […]

Hugh’s Give And Take

I haven’t peered into MacLeod’s Gaping Void in a while. Let’s take a look, shall we? I was in the pub the other evening, trying to explain the difference between Web 1.0 [“Dotcom”] vs Web 2.0 [“Blogs & Social Media”] to a web neophyte friend of mine. The short answer: “Dotcom was about ‘taking’. Web […]

Why Confine Storytelling To Books?

Toronto Star looks at Cathy’s Book, a great example of an interactive book. In the tradition of Griffin & Sabine — the series of books that contained packages of letters that became best-sellers in the 1990s — Cathy’s Book includes a sleeve of letters, invitations, pictures and other ephemera that are actually clues to help […]

Showin’ Trucks At The Fair

USA Today explains Texans’ fascination with pickup trucks. It’s a cultural thing. That’s the explanation. Some facts to support this argument: More than 27% of vehicles registered in Texas are pickups, compared with 20% for the rest of the nation. The article goes on to explain that the State Fair of Texas, an event attended […]

Web-Two-Point-Dough Blues

Greg Storey at Airbag has written a pensive peice on “blahgs.” His piece was inspired by Jeffrey Zelman’s question, “Are you still fired up about blogging?” Storey’s answer: Not so much. Our content is all starting to look the same because of the tools used to manage it and web-two-point-dough has homogenized the Internet. For […]